A Flea in Her Ear (Jan 26)

I got my first taste of the theatre in London on Tuesday when I went to see “A Flea in Her Ear” for my Performing Arts class and boy was that an adventure.

I left my dorm at around 6:35 p.m. for a 7:30 p.m. start time, thinking an hour was plenty of time. The travel planner on line said the trip to the theatre would take 20-25 minutes by tube so I was not rushing at all. I would even have some time to grab a quick bit to eat. Big mistake.

What I had not factored into my trip planning is that the train station I needed to take was a full 20 minute walk away from my dorm. Add in the fact that I had to wait 6-7 minutes for the train to get there, then another 3 minutes for the transfer train and I was starting to push it. I got really worried when I got on the transfer train and saw that my watch read 7:20. Yikes.

Image via Google images

If there’s one thing you can’t be late to it definitely is the theatre. Literally, you can’t be late or they won’t seat you. With that in mind I literally ran off the train only to find myself in the largest train station I had ever been in. I swear you could fit a football field inside the Waterloo Station (seen above). I had looked up the location of the theatre on Google maps so I knew the station was fairly close to the station but as was the case last time I was lost, I took a wrong exit out of the station that led me to a dark alley.

I knew that wasn’t right so I backtracked and found the theatre at

I didn't take this

7:40, 10 minutes late. Luckily an usher was kind to me and led me up the stairs for my walk of shame. I had to sit in the “latecomers” seats which were all the way at the top, on the right side of the stage at such an angle that half the stage was blocked. But hey, at least I was in. (See those lights all the way to the top left of the picture, that was my seat for the whole first half) The theatre was beautiful though, no matter how crappy my seat was.

The play on the other hand, well, it was somewhat funny. The only problem was that it was 2 and a half hours long! The first act was so long, people left, literally left thinking it was over. While the length may be fine for a drama or other type of play, for comedies it just doesn’t work. The jokes got stale and I nodded off once or twice during the second act. (Not having my glasses did not help matters)

Overall though I can’t complain. It was a good play that I got to see for a class for very cheap. Next time, I won’t be late though. We are going to see a ballet on Tuesday and you can bet I will be there before the dancers.

One more thing, guess how long it took to get from the theatre to the train station on the way back? If you guessed 2 minutes you were over by a minute. Yup, round of applause for me. (I ended up getting a cheeseburger from McDonald’s on the way back. In case anyone was wondering, they do have a dollar (pound) menu 🙂 How could I pass that up?)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Flea in Her Ear (Jan 26)

  1. Pingback: Haut Couture (Jan 31-2) | Andrei in London

Leave a Reply

